The Book as Weapon: Доктор Живаго

Around the time that Banned Books Week rolls around, you might see me getting a little snippy about the whole thing, at least how it’s observed in the US. It’s not that I am in any way pro-censorship. (I am pro-find-out-what-the-hell-your-kids-are-reading-and-talk-to-them-about-it-if-you-don’t-like-it. My Mom and Dad both took the time to explain why they didn’t like certain things I read but they also did this really weird thing where they would tell me ‘why’ and respect my opinion, as long as I could articulate it beyond “You Suck and I Hate You.” So yeah, except when I was 13, they were able to talk to me about books.) I’ve lived and traveled in countries where books are, indeed, banned… meaning, if you’re caught with one, you would be arrested, jailed, and possibly killed. That’s what a banned book is, and trust me, I’ll be highlighting that kind of thing in September. Saying a kid has to go to a city library or request a book through interlibrary loan, and may sometimes still not be able to find the book. (I grew up in a one-mile-square town where the library was in roughly half of an old gas station… not a large one… so I understand how much of an inconvenience it can sometimes be even with a friendly and awesome librarian (hats off to you Mrs Goward and the other librarians at the Vernon Public Library… thanks for not thinking I was too horribly weird…) helping you get the books you want.) I don’t think book banning is the answer in just about any of the cases on the US list of books frequently challenged… but still, inconvenience does not equal banned. When Amazon.Com gets shut down by the government for shipping a certain book, then we can call it banned.

Anyway, all of that rant is just to preface this story about how the CIA secretly published Doctor Zhivago and shipped copies to the USSR, back when that book was banned in its home country. And during the time it was banned, the book became so big that it netted Boris Pasternak the Nobel Prize. If you haven’t read it, I’d suggest you do. It’s truly one of the good ones, and while the movie is a masterwork as well, it doesn’t come close to the majesty and awe of the novel.

And while you’re reading it, remember that it wasn’t banned because someone was upset at the existence of (*gasp!*) homosexuals, or because a teenage kid swore, something teenage kids of course never ever do in real life. It was banned because it was considered dangerous.

Doctor Zhivago and the Cold War

2 thoughts on “The Book as Weapon: Доктор Живаго”

  1. My son and I have spent a great amount of time at the Vernon Library in the last 8 years. Mrs. Goward is still there from time to time. Such a sweet little lady. Also, I wrote the name of this book down, so we can check it out when we get back up to MI.

    1. Well, you can find Doctor Zhivago anywhere. I don’t necessarily know if that library has a copy of it, but most libraries and bookstores should have it, or at least can get it for you.

Leave a Reply

